Why do I love color?

This is, perhaps, an elementary type of question. Why do I love color? I could answer because it is portraying the sky, or the trees, or the water or even people to some degree. But my answer is a bit deeper, see- I love color because it is the combination of a perfect blend of darkness and light.

It means I take the dark experiences and combine them with the lighter ones, and I have life. I have art. I have true life, not an imaginary one.

The above art piece is one of Jackson Pollock’s masterpieces. To some, it may not seem like much of a “masterpiece”, but to others it feels like a refreshing art piece that portrays true life. It is called “convergence”, which was painted during the Cold War. Although we do not know for sure what Pollock was feeling, we can tell the diversity of his feelings. Black, white, red, yellow, blue, brown, straight, curved, dripped, etc. The painting is thick and filled with questions and emotions.

This is color. This is life. A combination of the bad times and the good times, the questions and the facts, the smiles and the frowns, etc. Life takes on a whole meaning of its own- but it has to be in compilation of everything that life throws at us.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started